Latest News.... . SDTTL LEAGUE SEASON 2020/21 ABANDONED +++ Latest News.... . +++ +++ Latest News.... . SDTTL LEAGUE SEASON 2020/21 ABANDONED +++ Latest News.... . +++


 To all member clubs in the Sutton and District Table Tennis League: URGENT

The League Committee had obviously been hoping that after Christmas we would return to some sort of normality but we have now unanimously agreed that it is not realistic to consider any league play for the 2020/21 season. The reasons are 1) that we are currently in lockdown; 2) that there is no end in sight to this and quite possibly some restrictions will apply till Easter or longer and 3)  nearly 50% of our clubs had still not been able to access their facilities even before lockdown came in.

We would normally just be beginning the second half of the season but even if some relaxation of restrictions were to come in by Easter, it would take too long to organise teams/ captains etc for any meaningful competitive play to take place because of individuals understandable reluctance to commit in this unprecedented time of uncertainty.

This is obviously disappointing news but may well not come as a surprise. We will obviously keep the situation under review and look to the future but please regard this decision as final as far as the current season is concerned.

Alan Clatworthy (Secretary on behalf of SDTTL Committee)

Open Singles : Patrick Beckley (Rosehill) beat Richard Tanner (Rosehill)
7-11, 11-8, 5-11, 11-9, 11-9

Open doubles : Richard Parke (Graham Spicer) and Ashkan Saffarizadeh (Rosehill), beat Richard Tanner and Patrick Beckley 8-11, 7-11,11-8,11-2, 11-9

Veteran’s Final : Richard Tanner beating Richard Parke 7-11, 11-3, 5-11, 11-7, 11-2

Super Veterans : Joel Clancey beat John Fannin 11-4, 11-6, 11-6

Ladies Singles : Michelle McGovern (Woodmansterne) beat Gill Bee (Rosehill)
11-6, 11-5, 11-4

Division 2 Singles : Joe Painter (Rosehill) beat Neil McAlpine (Woodmansterne
11-9, 11-9, 2-11, 11-9

Division 3 Singles : Colin Parkinson (Ewell Cedars) beat Alec Webster (Tadworth)
11-9, 11-3, 11-8

Division 4 Singles : Eham Mohan (Rosehill) beat Bruce Whattam (Woodmansterne)
5-11, 9-11, 12-10, 11-6, 11-7

Consolation Singles : Joe Painter beat Mike Nash (Crusaders) 11-6, 11-3, 2-11, 11-4

Handicap Singles : Johnson Osonaike (Wodmansterne) beat Peter High (Tadworth)
11-4, 4-11, 8-11, 11-6, 11-9