Latest News.... . 2023 AGM will be on 13th July at 7.30pm at Crusaders Hall, Stanley park road, Wallington. +++ +++ Latest News.... PLEASE NOTE HANDBOOK 22-23 Has been UPDATED 10/10/2022 Log in to Download. Latest News.... . +++ +++ Latest News.... . ALL Latest RESULTS & INFORMATION NOW AVAILABLE ON NEW TTLEAGUES Website, +++ Latest News.... . +++ +++ Latest News.... . H/C Cup draw latest now published +++ Latest News.... . +++ +++ Latest News.... . Players should check the TT England website re any latest covid guidance, +++ Latest News.... .

Closed championship results 2013-14


The Annual Championships of the Sutton & District Table Tennis League were recently completed at Graham Spicer's TTC and Rosehill TTC and 2014 boasted a stronger than ever entry of league players.

Teenager Mickel Miller (Wallington Crusaders) cruised to the junior (under 18) final, taking out Rosehill's Andrew Jackson in the semi final by scores of 11-3, 11-3, 11-5. In the other half of the draw Crusaders' George Harris beat Rosehill's George Wellsmartin 11-6, 11-5, 11-6. The final turned into a roller-coaster ride with Mickel securing the junior title 10-12, 11-3, 4-11, 11-6, 11-5.

The Cadets (under 15's) semi-finals were an all-Rosehill affair in which Kian King beat Daniil Klimenko and Indip Niroula beat Sid Nimal. In the final Niroula triumphed over King 11-6, 11-7, 11-6.

Mickel Miller successfully defended his Mens Singles title. In his semi-final he beat Middlesex county veteran Geoff Grange (Graham Spicer 11-2, 11-6, 11-7). An exciting semi final with an international flavour developed in the other half of the draw where Spicers' Klaus Schepers beat Rosehill's Rui Santo 7-11, 11-4, 12-10, 11-6. In the final Miller was not to be denied his trophy as he won through 11-9, 11-3, 9-11, 11-6.

Crusaders veteran Dean Rose partnered Mickel Miller in the Open Doubles. In the semi final they saw off a challenge from super-veteran John Fannin and Geoff Grange (Spicers) 11-5, 11-8, 12-10. Surrey county veteran Derek Holman partnered Klaus Schepers halted the progress of the Eldon pairing of Ian O'Connor and Jeremy Wu 11-6, 13-11, 11-6. After a slightly shaky start to the final Miller & Rose took control with scores of 11-7, 10-12, 8-11, 11-5, 11-2.

The Ladies Singles final saw Michelle McGovern (Ballards TTC) at the table facing Clare Causton (Carshalton LTC). Michelle capitalised on her considerable experience to win 11-6, 11-6, 11-7. She also won the Consolation Singles event but by a much narrower margin against Rosehill's Lee Farrier 11-7, 14-12, 9-11, 8-11, 15-13 in what was undoubtedly the longest final of the day.

The Veterans (over 40's) and Super-Veterans (over 60's) events both produced the same finalists from Garham Spicers, namely Derek Holman and John Fannin. Derek won both finals in straight games.

Seeds were scattered in the Division 2 singles competition. Deckers' Bob Hutton was enjoying one of his better days beating his teammate and titleholder Paul Rowley as well as Andrew Jackson (Rosehill). Jim Reeder (Eldon) made an earlier than expected exit at the hands of Goerge Wellsmartin (Rosehill) and to cap it all Rosehill's Russell Hurley was beaten by the eventual winner Lewis Vidler of Carshalton LTC.

Divisional final results:-

Div 2 Singles Lewis Vidler (Carshalton LTC) beat Bob Hutton (Deckers) 11-5, 10-12, 11-7, 11-9

Div 3 Singles Daniel Goodair (Crusaders) beat Tom Higgs (Carshalton LTC) 11-3, 11-7, 11-4

Div 4 Singles Luca Musacchio (Rosehill) beat Indip Niroula (Rosehill) 11-8, 8-11, 11-6, 11-9

Cadet Indip Niroula completed a busy day by winning the handicap competition. The final could not have been more finely balanced as Indip beat League Champion Mickel Miller 45-44!



(Images courtesy Michael Loveder)